Utah Phillips (Folk)

While looking through my Facebook feed today, Utah came to mind. A well-headed friend described the violent street protesters as Anarchists. It is not uncommon for violent protesters that riot against the state to be labeled as Anarchists. It does bother me when I see the label used this way, but accept that it is just another example of how the use of language can chisel perspective. I see them as pissed off people that are at the end of their wits and have gone temporarily mad. Others see them as anarchists, and I reckon they are free to do so, as I am free to see them as not. Utah Phillips is probably the best teacher that I have run into through art on the purist form of the idea that is labeled anarchy. It doesn’t mean that he is right, nor that I am right, nor that we are wrong, but the idea minus the label seems very attractive to me personally, although I don’t think that the current environment of my own local economy to the world economy makes it all feasible, unless I were to become a hermit among hermits. No matter to my reality of present existence, I enjoy listening to his art and his practical wisdom. I do think some aspects of Anarchy go against humans’ natural inclination to compete. The idea of living without a boss is extremely provocative, but in reality bosses aren’t going away anytime soon. We are reliant on hierarchies in almost every process of our living within this society.  Those that take the time to see will see authority everywhere that is adapted to and the adaptation is mostly unconcious.

In a world not fucked

Music would not exist

Divided we are most truly free to be ourselves. Conquered, yet freer, because conquered is all we have ever known.

 

 

Leave a Reply

