Learning To Fly Again With Metallica’s Hardwired…To Self-Destruct by Sean Rooney

seekthysoul

When I was a kid, Metallica taught me how to fly. Not literally ,but it felt like flying. My small hometown is about 38 miles north of Manhattan; we’re talking Suburbia’s suburbia,if you will. It was 1997 and I can remember riding on my skateboard every day. It was a horrid 1980’s red short board, with a wicked cobra snake on the top. It had those crazy wide wheels and loud bearings that you could hear coming from a mile away.
I’d take to the board and skate around my neighborhood, a circular suburban block where nothing and everything happened. I was around 13 at the time. I’d put my fuzzy Coby headphones on and listen to my trusty Walkman, letting the music permeate my soul. In those moments, I was free. And in those days, for a split second when Metallica’s “To live is to die” came…

View original post 2,763 more words

Leave a Reply

