One Bad Son (Rock n Roll)

Sometimes the name of a band sticks out like a lone tree in a field of flowers. Band names often play a part to what sometimes is shared here. There is really an endless supply of bands and artists available to do something as what I do here. So, sometimes what is in a name and how I can personally relate to it plays a small part. One Bad Son, I have been and I have my eyes out for a band named One Good Father. It is possible that these two can be one in the same.

One Bad Son has been on my list for a couple of years. I often hem myself in by aiming to share mostly something edgy or ways off the beaten path. This is not one of those times. This band brings back memories of my youth. My youth, that experienced many a power ballad that rocked heavy with the blues threaded into the songs as laces in a shoe. A little GnR, Bon Jovi, and Motley Crue comes through to me as possible influences. This band from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada is a sweet option for middle-aged rockers that enjoy old sounds in a new form. Any age with open ears should be able to find their heads bobbing a little with a good listen here.

Links to band

Wiki page

Homepage

Facebook

Twitter

The first song shared has been long on my mind as a personal anarchist song of myself’s perspective of the ruling authorities in my own country. Greed rules and makes the rules of the rulers. Where what we are is insignificant to what we accumulate in the prevailing societal definition of what we are and ain’t. Where what we possess defines us more than what we actually are. This seems to lead us into being slaves to the material and the ones with the most material enslave those with the least. It being what it seems, I am grateful to have lived, loved and suffered enough to know enough is much less than anyone around here would show or condition me to understand. Yet, the rebel in me rebels and so art that rebels will find a warm home in my heart.

“All government, in its essence, is a conspiracy against the superior man: its one permanent object is to oppress him and cripple him. If it be aristocratic in organization, then it seeks to protect the man who is superior only in law against the man who is superior in fact; if it be democratic, then it seeks to protect the man who is inferior in every way against both. One of its primary functions is to regiment men by force, to make them as much alike as possible and as dependent upon one another as possible, to search out and combat originality among them. All it can see in an original idea is potential change, and hence an invasion of its prerogatives. The most dangerous man to any government is the man who is able to think things out for himself, without regard to the prevailing superstitions and taboos. Almost inevitably he comes to the conclusion that the government he lives under is dishonest, insane and intolerable, and so, if he is romantic, he tries to change it. And even if he is not romantic personally he is very apt to spread discontent among those who are.”
~ H.L. Mencken

 

 

Leave a Reply

