Happy Birthday to Eldest Son

Just wanted to wish the eldest a Happy Birthday. With regards to all three children, I could not of asked for better offspring. In regards to the oldest, I keep waiting for the old boy to shit the bed on something and show that he did get a little of that inherited habit  from me. That old wives tale that we get back double of what we gave our parents is pure bullshit by my experience. Grateful for the relationships that I have with our children. It ain’t always storybook good, but it sure is good enough.

Here is a few tidbits on this day that he was brought into this world a couple of decades ago.

In 1945 on this day, old Ira Hayes helped plant this flag on Iwo Jima

main_small

“We continually set before us the successful rich man
as more typical of what America means than the student
or the philanthropist or the unselfish man of small income
and simple tastes.”- W. E. B. Du Bois born February 23, 1868

 

Peter Fonda born February 23, 1940

 

And as new lives begin as do new deaths begin, on your birthday poet John Keats passed on in 1821

When I have fears that I may cease to be
Before my pen has glean’d my teeming brain,
Before high piled books, in charact’ry,
Hold like rich garners the full-ripen’d grain;
When I behold, upon the night’s starr’d face,
Huge cloudy symbols of a high romance,
And think that I may never live to trace
Their shadows, with the magic hand of chance;
And when I feel, fair creature of an hour,
That I shall never look upon thee more,
Never have relish in the faery power
Of unreflecting love!—then on the shore
Of the wide world I stand alone, and think
Till Love and Fame to nothingness do sink.

I love you son, and thanks for simply being you. Happy Birthday.

Leave a Reply

