Nick Drake (Poetic Folk)

This is a throw back Thursday post. It is Thursday, isn’t it? The writer having been working the midnight shift and has to double think to make certain of what day it is. Midnight shit is where tomorrow is already today and vice versa it seems. Anyways, this share is a fresh find for me. I’m grateful to have lived long enough to experience Nick’s creativity.

I owe a the band Swans for them sharing a Nick Drake tune on Facebook. I shared Swans in a Triple Dose post around a year and half ago. Nick Drake passed on in 1974. I have a feeling of guilt for having lived this long and this day being the first day that I have knowingly digested what he gave of himself to the world. It is a grateful guilt, I assure you.

I’m just gonna post the usual three vids with the lyrics. The lyrics this fella wrote are full of suffering and listening to him sing, I find it hard to deny that I love suffering.

Nick Drake Wikipedia

 

When the day is done
Down to earth then sinks the sun
Along with everything that was lost and won
When the day is done

When the day is done
Hope so much your race will be all run
Then you find you jumped the gun
Have to go back where you begun
When the day is done

When the night is cold
Some get by but some get old
Just to show life’s not made of gold
When the night is cold

When the bird has flown
Got no-one to call your own
Got no place to call your home
When the bird has flown

When the game’s been fought
You sped the ball across the court
Lost much sooner than you would have thought
Now the game’s been fought

When the party’s through
Seems so very sad for you
Didn’t do the things you meant to do
Now there’s no time to start anew
Now the party’s through

When the day is done
Down to earth then sinks the sun
Along with everything that was lost and won
When the day is done

Time has told me
You’re a rare, rare find
A troubled cure
For a troubled mind.

And time has told me
Not to ask for more
Someday our ocean
Will find its shore.

So I’ll leave the ways that are making me be
What I really don’t want to be
Leave the ways that are making me love
What I really don’t want to love.

Time has told me
You came with the dawn
A soul with no footprint
A rose with no thorn.

Your tears they tell me
There’s really no way
Of ending your troubles
With things you can say

And time will tell you
To stay by my side
To keep on trying
‘Til there’s no more to hide

So leave the ways that are making you be
What you really don’t want to be
Leave the ways that are making you love
What you really don’t want to love.

Time has told me
You’re a rare, rare find
A troubled cure
For a troubled mind.

And time has told me
Not to ask for more
Someday our ocean
Will find its shore.

Saturday sun came early one morning
In a sky so clear and blue
Saturday sun came without warning
So no-one knew what to do
Saturday sun brought people and faces
That didn’t seem much in their day
But when I remembered those people and places
They were really too good in their way
In their way
In their way
Saturday sun won’t come and see me today

Think about stories with reason and rhyme
Circling through your brain
And think about people in their season and time
Returning again and again
And again
And again
but Saturday sun has turned to Sunday’s rain

 

Here is a little bonus track from Nick’s Mom. If you love to cry, than listen.

 

Leave a Reply

