Listener (Talk Music)

This band is about as original as a band can get. Going by how I keep track of bands, this band has been on my list for over a couple of years. I have been going through the list and trying to clean it up a bit and Listener just stuck out to me as a band that I had to share here. Unique and good draws my attention and these fellers seem to hit that mark to me. Their creations come across to me as very poetic and the lyrics have a tender essence that just rips the flesh out of my frangible constructed walls partitioned around my wailing heart. Listener is a medicinal remedy to me.

Listener Homepage

Listener Facebook page 59,513

Listener Twitter page 11,232

Listener iTunes page

This one is simple and someone with this band knows the edge. Knows it well, and points it out well. This one leaves me not lonely.

The lyrics to this one is at the bottom of page.

This video shows a live performance that doesn’t disappoint if you enjoyed the first two videos.

WOODEN HEART (sea of mist called skaidan)  We’re all born to broken people on their most honest day of living  and since that first breath… We’ll need grace that we’ve never given  I’ve been haunted by standard red devils and white ghosts  and it’s not only when these eyes are closed  these lies are ropes that I tie down in my stomach,  but they hold this ship together tossed like leaves in this weather and my dreams are sails that I point towards my true north,  stretched thin over my rib bones, and pray that it gets better  but it won’t won’t, at least I don’t believe it will…  so I’ve built a wooden heart inside this iron ship,  to sail these blood red seas and find your coasts.  don’t let these waves wash away your hopes  this war-ship is sinking, and I still believe in anchors  pulling fist fulls of rotten wood from my heart, I still believe in saviors  but I know that we are all made out of shipwrecks, every single board  washed and bound like crooked teeth on these rocky shores  so come on and let’s wash each other with tears of joy and tears of grief  and fold our lives like crashing waves and run up on this beach  come on and sew us together, tattered rags stained forever  we only have what we remember  I am the barely living son of a woman and man who barely made it  but we’re making it taped together on borrowed crutches and new starts  we all have the same holes in our hearts…  everything falls apart at the exact same time  that it all comes together perfectly for the next step  but my fear is this prison… that I keep locked below the main deck  I keep a key under my pillow, it’s quiet and it’s hidden  and my hopes are weapons that I’m still learning how to use right  but they’re heavy and I’m awkward…always running out of fight  so I’ve carved a wooden heart, put it in this sinking ship  hoping it would help me float for just a few more weeks  because I am made out of shipwrecks, every twisted beam  lost and found like you and me scattered out on the sea  so come on let’s wash each other with tears of joy and tears of grief  and fold our lives like crashing waves and run up on this beach  come on and sew us together, just some tattered rags stained forever  we only have what we remember  My throat it still tastes like house fire and salt water  I wear this tide like loose skin, rock me to sea  if we hold on tight we’ll hold each other together  and not just be some fools rushing to die in our sleep  all these machines will rust I promise, but we’ll still be electric  shocking each other back to life  Your hand in mine, my fingers in your veins connected  our bones grown together inside  our hands entwined, your fingers in my veins braided  our spines grown stronger in time  because are church is made out of shipwrecks  from every hull these rocks have claimed  but we pick ourselves up, and try and grow better through the change  so come on yall and let’s wash each other with tears of joy and tears of grief  and fold our lives like crashing waves and run up on this beach  come on and sew us together, were just tattered rags stained forever  we only have what we remember

 

 

Leave a Reply

