Charity and Dignity ( Nano Story)

I sometimes struggle with charity. I stopped at a fast food joint for a drink and a leak. In the restroom there was a fellow that was finishing up cleaning himself and was putting his shaving tools into a knapsack. I asked how ya doing and we exchanged pleasantries. When I went to the counter the gentleman demanded I go before him. I gratefully accepted and watched him order while I waited for my beverage. A part of me wanted to offer to pay for his coffee and apple pie out of charity but a part of me didn’t dare to offend his possible dignity. I passed him as leaving and observed him smelling the coffee fumes as he opened the cup while sitting at his table. I couldn’t match the smile on his face if I tried.

Leave a Reply

