Strangejuice

I  owe Kayne West this morning for being reintroduced to Strangejuice. A friend shared a Beck tune on Facebook and it was the first listen of the day for the writer. It was the first time that I knew that I was listening to Beck. Beck is worthy, Beck is worthy, Beck is worthy. Hell, Beyounce may be worthy also, but in fairness to her, that part of my perspective is to tunneled for me to give her stuff my full attention. That is my problem, not hers, and maybe the same could be said of Kayne having the problem with Beck winning an award. He probably helped Beck gain some exposure, and threw a few extra bricks on the walls that already exist for the close eared to Beyounce. Enough of that, lets get back to Strangejuice.

After posting a couple of Beck albums on my Facebook page and sharing one of Beck songs that a friend, Mike Anderson, had shared on his feed, Mike posted on my thread how Beck was the reason for his picking a guitar up and starting a musical career. Mike later told me that he added me as friend awhile back when I started following Strangejuice on Facebook. I just realized now that he hadn’t blocked me. He didn’t just add me for a number. That’s a good tell.  I asked Mike where could I find some of his stuff, and he told me Strangejuice. I started listening and am glad to report that he doesn’t suck. I didn’t have to patronize him, and felt the need to throttle the goodness of my perspective. I didn’t want to come across as being a boot licker for attention. Not that I didn’t feel the desire for attention. :).  When it is good, it is good and I can hear nothing to critique. A beautiful voice with range and the ability to go into the smoker range. As usual, I leave you the freedom to discover for yourself.

Strangejuice is from Perth, Australia. Australia is rich source of diverse musical creation. Strangejuice is a self described Independent Hermit Song Maker. An artist after this writers heart with that description. This is the type of artist that I wanted to blog about when I started this damn blog. Artists that are underground of sorts, yet create a top shelf experience for a listener. It feels nice to hit that aim every now and then. Thanking Kayne West on this one. :).

Band Links

Facebook

iTunes

Soundcloud

Triplejuneearth

The first video shared could be my own theme song. It is nice to see that I am not alone in being content with laziness. All three videos shared are deep lyrically. There is blood on em.

If you made it this far, here is a lengthy article on Steve Albini’s perspective on the state of the music industry. Steve produced the album that Cloud Nothings sucked me in with. It’s worth the read depending on your level of interest.

“If you’re going to try, go all the way. Otherwise, don’t even start. This could mean losing girlfriends, wives, relatives and maybe even your mind. It could mean not eating for three or four days. It could mean freezing on a park bench. It could mean jail. It could mean derision. It could mean mockery–isolation. Isolation is the gift. All the others are a test of your endurance, of how much you really want to do it. And, you’ll do it, despite rejection and the worst odds. And it will be better than anything else you can imagine. If you’re going to try, go all the way. There is no other feeling like that. You will be alone with the gods, and the nights will flame with fire. You will ride life straight to perfect laughter. It’s the only good fight there is.”
– Charles Bukowski

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Strangejuice

  1. Pingback: De Staat | bbbatez

Leave a Reply

