Southern

This southern named band which is not from the south, but has a southern feel, is simply named for the last name of this brother and sister fronted group of Belfast, Ireland. I always enjoy running into groups welded together by blood. Certainly, when they sound as sweet as this group, that connection is something not to be overlooked.  I got a bit of Irish blood flowing in these veins, so maybe I am partial to current creations sprouting from those green mountains, but the more these vibrations flow by my ears, the more happy I am to share them here.

They have been featured by the Guardian’s Paul Lester as one of his bands of the day. (Link)

Bio from their Facebook page

Southern are Belfast-born, Liverpool-based brother and sister band Thom and Lucy Southern with drummer Eoghan Clifford. They follow the acclaim for the ‘Southern’ EP, with another instinctive collection of songs that veer from juggernaut-sized blues-kissed rock’n’roll punk to folk/country.

Links to band pages

Homepage

Facebook page

Twitter

Soundcloud page

The first video has a few live versions on Youtube that offer different perspectives of sound. I suggest checking some of those versions out. The second song plays just as well as the first. The third is a much slower ballad type of tune that speaks to getting outside. Something that touches desires deep within me.

“When despair for the world grows in me and I wake in the night at the least sound in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be, I go and lie down where the wood drake rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds. I come into the peace of wild things who do not tax their lives with forethought of grief. I come into the presence of still water. And I feel above me the day-blind stars waiting with their light. For a time I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.”   Wendell Berry

One response to “Southern

Leave a Reply

