The Fame Riot

fameriot

  The Fame Riot, the band of the day is from Tacoma, Washington. Why in the world, do I like this Electro, pop, glam rock band? There are only two reasons I can come up with, and one is Cyndy Lauper’s hold on me, or just maybe these fellas are very good.  When I watch this group play, I think of early David Bowie, Iggy Pop and Boy George.  Flamboyant, with an upbeat, high tempo flow, is how I would describe them. I have learned to just trust my ears, and my ears want to wiggle when I listen to Fame Riot.

The band mainly consists of brothers, according to my research department, Liz Scarlett and Shazam “Tea Time” Watkins.  I am assuming that they play all parts for recording purposes and hire help for live shows.  If my research department discovers otherwise, I will properly edit this section.  Another thing about this group is how easy it would be to market this group. The live footage of this group, shows a lot of heads moving in the crowd, except for the video, that appeared to be a fair of some sort.  That crowd had it’s fair share of blue hairs in attendance, and I am sure they had a tale to share at the weekly bridge club event, after watching them some Fame Riot.  You can’t teach what they have, and I expect that flamboyance to carry them pretty far. Their music is full of 80’s nostalgia, but it comes across somewhat fresh. Maybe it is due to the amount of time that has passed since these type of beats have been popular. Music does have a tendency to go in cycles, so who really knows how far a sound can go at any given time or period.

The Fame Riot also made it to the finals of the EMP sound off competition. They finished third, but these type of competitions can be more about how many friends and family show up, than who is the best live performer.  The experienced gained is what matters most, by playing under some pressure.

The first video “Pair it up” is the song that first caught my ear. This video gives an example of how tight their sound is live.  The second video is “The Finale (Cosmic Future Remix).” This one is full of funk and is groovy.  The third video “Try to be Better” is a perfect song, for someone having a bit of trouble with their lover.

 Fame Riot official page

Fame Riot Facebook page

Fame Riot Twitter feed

Fame Riot BandCamp page

Have a blessed day. Fill your hearts with kindness and remember nothing is more important than today.

Leave a Reply

