Opossum Holler-Underground Band of the Week 03/15

opossumholler

 Opossom Holler, this weeks band of the week, comes from where my blood runs thick. I believe these boys come from the flatlands of Bowling Green, Kentucky. My blood runs through the hills of Pine Top, like gas flows through the music of this weeks selection. I have wanted to post about this group for a couple of weeks, but when they posted that they were going to be posting some new material on the Tube, I had to show some control and wait for what was in store for the fans of this ripping, rocket fueled, Rock n Roll band. Folks, I am glad I did, cause it doesn’t disappoint.

This is a three piece band, and I am here to warn all of you, that the bass play of Brad Ausbrooks, will melt the wax from your ears. I am constantly running into two piece bands, and I have posted a few since they can make some great sounding racket, but it is refreshing to hear a group utilize bass play as this group does. Iron Maiden, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers comes to mind. If Brad’s bass was a lady, they would have to mop the floor after ever song. The lead vocalist, Lloyd Nicely, also handles the guitar. Lloyd and his sideburns are a show all to himself. His vocals remind me a little of Danzig, but not enough to typecast him as clone.  He is full of energy, and is quite the showman, who looks like he is only going to get better and better at being a front man. Matt DeVore  is the drummer and can’t say enough about the kick drumming he does in the song “Saw Dust.” Very few bands, outside of the hardcore metal scene, use kick drumming, but when they do, I can’t help but take notice. That was one of the reasons, I fell in love with Buddy System.  Maybe I am a sucker for it, but it rattles my cage, so what am I to do, but love it, when it is done well.

The first video”Screamin’ Delta Demon” is the track, that caused me to catalog this group for a post. It is fast and furious. The second video “Saw Dust” is from a set of videos, that I had been waiting for. This is the track, which has the kick drumming and the whole song makes me smile. The third video is from the new recordings done by SOKY Sessions. It includes some interview footage, and has about 18 minutes of footage. If you get through the first two videos, than you will enjoy the third, I promise.  I will be watching for this band to visit Cleveland, and will make sure to clear my schedule for it, when it happens.

03/15  Edit: The song “Saw Dust” isn’t available for purchase yet. The band said they are planning to hit the recording studio this Sunday, and it will be available very soon.

Opossum Holler official site

Opossum Holler Facebook page

Opossum Holler Itunes page

Opossum Holler Bandcamp link– get 10% of “What’s Done is Done” album for the next 15 days. shitfiddle is the discount code.

Have a blessed day. Fill your hearts with kindness and remember nothing is more important than today.

5 responses to “Opossum Holler-Underground Band of the Week 03/15

Leave a Reply

